2014 Rocket City Challenge Results

Post date: Aug 03, 2014 9:39:29 PM

The 2014 Rocket City Challenge was a great success. There were 159 entries in 12 classes. Saturday morning was rainy until around 8am, so we opened practice and sign-in for an extra hour. Racing kicked off around 10:30 am which was later than planned, however we were able to get through the qualifiers in time to start the mains at 6 pm. The track started the day wet and sticky, but dried out and developed a groove later in the day once the sun came out. The A-mains started right as the sun set which changed the track conditions yet again. The surface became hard and sticky with very little fluff and lots of traction.

Throughout the mains there were many close fought battles for position. The step up corner at the end of the straight caused some rough starts during the mains and provided some very close action as the mid-pack drivers took early leads and the top qualifiers had to work their way through the field. The 5 pack double single double presented a real challenge in every class with only the top driver able to consistently clear it as at triple double or double triple.

The mains finished up around 11 pm and since we were presenting trophies after each race most racers were able to leave earlier.

Results for the race can be found here along with qualifying times.

Event photography provided by Bryan Burton Photography. There are over 1000 photos of this event available for purchase.

Here are the A-Main winners:

Novice A-Main: 1st - Josh Ormes, 2nd - Brad Hook, 3rd Brad Gray

Stock Short Course A-Main: 1st - Stephen Armstrong, 2nd - David Harris, 3rd - Mike Gibson

2wd SC Truck A-Main: 1st - Jacob Mueller, 2nd - Willie Scott, 3rd - Matthew Brocato

4wd SC Truck A-Main: 1st - Jeff Watkins, 2nd - Rusty Brooks, 3rd - Daniel Myers

2wd Buggy A-Main: 1st - Jacob Mueller, 2nd - Blake Boggs, 3rd - Hunter Cupp

4wd Buggy A-Main: 1st - Brian Cooke, 2nd - Richard Hess, 3rd - Rusty Brooks

Sportsman E-Buggy A-Main: 1st - Tyler Parrish, 2nd - Jody Johnson, 3rd - Jeremy Reid

Pro E-Buggy A-Main: 1st - Blake Boggs, 2nd - Hunter Cupp, 3rd - Cody Berryman

Sportsman Nitro Buggy A-Main: 1st - Jeremy Reid, 2nd - Josh King, 3rd - Richard Douglas V

Pro Nitro Buggy A-Main: 1st - Blake Boggs, 2nd - Steven Rossi, 3rd - Cody Berryman

E-Truggy A-Main: 1st - Tommy Rogers, 2nd - Jeff Watkins, 3rd - Rusty Brooks

Nitro Truggy A-Main: 1st - Cole Kasten, 2nd - Jeremy Reid, 3rd - Brian Potts

RC3 thanks the following race sponsors who donated door prizes:



BDB Designs

Boca Bearings


Cookies All Purpose R/C Grease



Leadfinger Racing


Proline Racing

Robinson Racing Products





Vengeance Graphics - Airbrushing by Nick

The next Alabama Iron Man points series race will be the 6th Annual Steve Raddatz Memorial Race at SHARC in Tuscumbia on October 11th.